1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Ricky Fante and Fountains of Wayne are Featured on the Soundtrack to "Robots"


Updated February 28, 2014
NEW YORK, Feb. 2, 2005 - Virgin Records will release the "Robots" film soundtrack on March 1, 2005 the company announced. Robots is a major new animated film created by the Academy Award-winning director that brought the Oscar-nominated Ice Age to the screen. The film opens nationally March 11, 2005 and will be released by 20th Century Fox in both IMAX and standard versions. Among the stars cast as the film voices of "Robots" are: Ewan McGregor, Halle Berry, Robin Williams, Mel Brooks, Greg Kinnear, Drew Carey and Jamie Kennedy.

Leading off the soundtrack album of "Robots" is Virgin soul star Ricky Fante, who recorded his new song "Shine," especially for the film. Pop-rockers Fountains of Wayne also appear with a newly-recorded song, "Tell Me What You Already Did." Film score composer John Powell is joined by theatrical innovators Blue Man Group for "Robot City."

Several recent hit tunes will be familiar in the soundtrack: "Right Thurr," the hip-hop smash by Chingy; the top 20 single "I Like That" by Houston, featuring Chingy and Nate Dogg; and the recent single by Virgin artist Stacie Orrico, "(There's Gotta Be) More to Life."

New Zealand pop-punkers Steriogram also highlight the soundtrack with the manic "Walkie Talkie Man," nominated for Breakthrough Video in last fall's MTV Video Music Awards, alongside Fatboy Slim's "Wonderful Night," the latest single from his album Palookaville, featuring a rap by Lateef the Truth Speaker. Mercury Music Prize winners Gomez, currently touring the U.S., contribute the song "Silence."

Pop music's legends are also represented in the track list, with War's west coast Latin-funk classic "Low Rider," while James Brown's late-Seventies "Get Up Offa That Thing" appears in a new club remix. R&B supergroup Earth, Wind and Fire contributes a brand-new track, "Love's Dance," a collaboration with superstar producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, from a forthcoming new EWF album.

Interested in purchasing the "Robots" movie soundtrack? Compare prices here.


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.