1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

"Beyond the Sea" Movie Soundtrack News

Starring Kevin Spacey as Bobby Darin


Beyond the Sea soundtrack

Soundtrack to "Beyond the Sea"

Rhino Records

Oct 25, 2004 - ATCO/Rhino Records honors the memory of the legendary Bobby Darin with the soundtrack to "Beyond the Sea." Oscar-winner Kevin Spacey shows off his vocal talents by singing 18 songs from the crooner on the film's soundtrack.

Joining Spacey in the film are Kate Bosworth as Sandra Dee, John Goodman, Bob Hoskins, Brenda Blethyn, Gretta Scacchi, Caroline Aaron and Peter Cincotti. Lions Gate will release the movie on December 10 in New York and December 17 in Los Angeles.

In a press release announcing the soundtrack Spacey said, "Bobby got into music through his brother-in-law's big band record collection; I got into music through my dad's collection of big band and jazz 78s. I was the kid standing in the living room singing into a hairbrush to my family. Bobby did the same thing except he was singing along to Frank Sinatra records and I was singing along to Bobby Darin records."

Spacey studied Darin's voice and mannerisms before heading into production on "Beyond the Sea." "I began working with Roger Kellaway in 1999 long before there was a script or money to make the movie. Kellaway worked with Bobby as a musical director and accompanist. After three years of playing at home and in clubs with Roger, he and I started working on a soundstage at Universal Studios where there was room for a band. We also set up a big screen next to some mirrors so I could watch any of Bobby's performance on screen while watching my performance in the mirrors," said Spacey.

Explaining the process of bringing Darin and his songs to life on the big screen, Phil Ramone said, "When I started working with [Kevin Spacey, no one -- including Kevin -- knew if he could sing Bobby's songs. When the filming began, Kevin had Bobby's nightclub act down. He wasn't an actor imitating a singer anymore; he'd developed Bobby's instincts as a singer and was playing off the audience and the musicians like Bobby would."

"BEYOND THE SEA" Track Listing:

1. Hello Young Lovers
2. Once Upon A Time
3. Fabulous Places
4. Simple Song Of Freedom
5. Mack The Knife
6. The Curtain Falls
7. Beyond The Sea
8. By Myself/Lover Has Gone
9. Some Of These Days
10. Change
11. If I Were A Carpenter
12. Artificial Flowers
13. That's All
14. As Long As I'm Singing
15. Lazy River
16. Charade
17. Dream Lover
18. Splish Splash

Interested in purchasing the "Beyond the Sea" soundtrack? Compare prices here.

Source: Rhino Records

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.