1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

"A Very Long Engagement" Wins Top Cinematography Honors

The American Society of Cinematographers Picks the Best of 2004


Jim Caviezel Passion of the Christ

Jim Caviezel in "The Passion of The Christ"

© Icon Productions
LOS ANGELES, Feb. 13, 2005 - Bruno Delbonnel, AFC took top honors for A VERY LONG ENGAGEMENT in the feature film competition here tonight at the 19th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. It was the first ASC Award for Delbonnel, who was also nominated for AMELIE in 2002, another collaboration with director Jean-Pierre Jeunet.

The film follows a French woman's dogged attempts to learn the fate of her fiance, who disappeared during World War I.

Nominees in the feature category were Dion Beebe, ASC, ACS and Paul Cameron for COLLATERAL, Caleb Deschanel, ASC for THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST, Pawel Edelman, PSC for RAY, and Robert Richardson ASC for THE AVIATOR.

Alec Baldwin presented the award to Delbonnel. "Each of the nominees has earned the respect of their peers for their artful and skillful rendering of images that accurately reflect the spirit of the stories they tell," Baldwin said. "Each successfully interpreted the intentions of the directors and performances of the cast in ways that allow audiences to embrace the story."

Jonathan Freeman, Robbie Greenberg, ASC and Nathan Hope claimed ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards in the three television competitions. Greenberg claimed top honors for IRON JAWED ANGELS (HBO) in the cable movie competition. Freeman won for HOMELAND SECURITY (NBC) in the competition for original movie for broadcast television. Hope won the episodic series competition for "Down the Drain" / CSI: CRIME SCENE INVESTIGATION (CBS). The awards were presented by Victor Garber (ALIAS), Kathryn Morris (COLD CASE), and Poppy Montgomery (WITHOUT A TRACE), respectively.

Greenberg previously took top honors in the made-for-cable movie competition for WINCHELL in 1999 and INTRODUCING DOROTHY DANDRIDGE in 2000. Freeman was nominated for PRINCE STREET in the episodic TV competition in 1998, the telefilm STRANGE JUSTICE in 1999, and the miniseries TAKEN in 2003. This was his first win. This was the first ASC nomination for Hope.

Fred Koenekamp, ASC received the prestigious ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. The cinematographer compiled nearly 90 film credits during his career. He earned his first director of photography credit in 1964 for the pilot episode of the classic THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. television series. Koenekamp won an Oscar(R) for THE TOWERING INFERNO in 1975. He received other nominations for ISLANDS IN THE STREAM and PATTON.

The cinematographers also feted Gilbert Cates, who received the organization's Board of Governors Award, which is presented annually to an individual who has made extraordinary and enduring contributions to advancing the art of filmmaking. It is the only annual award that ASC reserves for an individual who is not a cinematographer. The award was presented to Cates in recognition of his achievements as a producer and director, and for his many services to the industry. Debbie Allen presented the award.

Film critic Leonard Maltin received the first-ever ASC Award of Distinction. The award was presented to Maltin by cinematographer Allen Daviau, ASC, who said, "Film critic doesn't begin to describe who Leonard Maltin is, and what he does for all of us. He is a scholar, journalist, historian, preservationist and passionate aficionado of the art form."

Alan Alda presented the ASC International Achievement Award to Italian cinematographer Tonino Delli Colli, AIC. Delli Colli was a driving force in the birth and evolution of neorealist cinema during the mid-1940s and 1950s. Delli Colli compiled 137 credits over 60 years, including such classic films as THE NAME OF THE ROSE, ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST, THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE UGLY, ONCE UPON A TIME IN AMERICA and LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL.

Peter Fonda presented the Presidents Award to Richard Moore, ASC. Moore co-founded Panavision with Robert Gottschalk in 1954. He shared a technical Oscar for designing and developing a 65 mm camera system. Moore eventually returned to his first love, cinematography. Fonda and Moore collaborated on the Roger Corman film THE WILD ANGELS.

The ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards were inaugurated in 1987 for the purpose of recognizing and inspiring the quest for artistry in narrative filmmaking. There are currently some 275 members from many countries around the world, and another 140 associates in allied fields.


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.