1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

28th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards - The Nominees and Winners


Film Independent Spirit Awards

Film Independent Spirit Awards

The 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards were held on the Santa Monica beach on Saturday, February 23rd, with Andy Samberg handling the hosting duties. Taking place the day before the Oscars, the indie world celebrated the best in 2012 films by selecting Silver Linings Playbook as the winner of four awards. The only category in which it was nominated but didn't win was in the Best Actor race which found Bradley Cooper losing out to The Sessions star John Hawkes.

Spirit Awards Nominees and Winners

BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer)
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep the Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Winner: Silver Linings Playbook

Wes Anderson - Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev - The Loneliest Planet
Winner: David O. Russell - Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs - Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin - Beasts of the Southern Wild

Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola - Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan - Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh - Seven Psychopaths
Winner: David O. Russell - Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs - Keep the Lights On

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
Fill the Void - DIRECTOR: Rama Burshtein
Gimme the Loot - DIRECTOR: Adam Leon
Safety Not Guaranteed - DIRECTOR: Colin Trevorrow
Sound of My Voice - DIRECTOR: Zal Batmanglij
Winner: The Perks of Being a Wallflower - DIRECTOR: Stephen Chbosky

Fill the Void - Rama Burshtein
Winner: Safety Not Guaranteed - Derek Connolly
Robot & Frank - Christopher Ford
Celeste and Jesse Forever - Rashida Jones & Will McCormack
Gayby - Jonathan Lisecki

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
Breakfast with Curtis
Winner: Middle of Nowhere
Mosquita y Mari
The Color Wheel

Linda Cardellini - Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi - Middle of Nowhere
Winner: Jennifer Lawrence - Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis - Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead - Smashed

Jack Black - Bernie
Bradley Cooper - Silver Linings Playbook
Winner: John Hawkes - The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt - Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey - Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce - Four

Rosemarie DeWitt - Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd - Compliance
Winner: Helen Hunt - The Sessions
Brit Marling - Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint - Middle of Nowhere

Winner: Matthew McConaughey - Magic Mike
David Oyelowo - Middle of Nowhere
Michael Péna - End of Watch
Sam Rockwell - Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis - Moonrise Kingdom

Yoni Brook - Valley of Saints
Lol Crawley - Here
Winner: Ben Richardson - Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov - End of Watch
Robert Yeoman - Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)
How to Survive a Plague
Marina Abramović: The Artist is Present
The Central Park Five
Winner: The Invisible War
The Waiting Room
[For more on the best documentaries, visit About.com Documentaries]

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)
Winner: Amour (France)
Once Upon A Time in Anatolia (Turkey)
Rust And Bone (France/Belgium)
Sister (Switzerland)
War Witch (Democratic Republic of Congo)

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD - (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
Director: Sean Baker
Casting Director: Julia Kim
Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.