1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2010 Academy Award Nominees and Winners

'The Hurt Locker' is the Big Oscar Winner


The Hurt Locker Best Picture

(Front L-R) Director Kathryn Bigelow, screenwriter Mark Boal and producer Greg Shapiro, and (rear L-R) actors Jeremy Renner, Brian Geraghty and Anthony Mackie accept the Best Picture Oscar for 'The Hurt Locker.'

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
March 7, 2010 - The 82nd Academy Awards started off with this year's nominees for best actress and best actor in a starring role being introduced. A classy way to kick off the show, but also a little awkward as there was no real reason for them to take the stage. Neil Patrick Harris followed with a snazzy little song and dance number. Now that's the way to get the energy pumped up. It wasn't as much fun - or as in tune - as Hugh Jackman's number at the 2009 Academy Awards, but it was a decent effort.

After NPH warmed up the crowd, co-hosts Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin took over, playing it safe, never singing or dancing, and did little to perk up the proceedings. A week after the awards are over it's highly doubtful anything they said or did will be remembered.

Thankfully, the 2010 Oscars did deliver some memorable moments when the Oscar winners took to the stage to accept their awards. For the first time in the history of the Academy, a woman took home the Best Director trophy. The Hurt Locker director Kathryn Bigelow finally broke through the gender barrier, forever earning a spot in the Oscar history books. And Bigelow's Best Director Oscar wasn't the only Academy Award The Hurt Locker picked up. The character-driven war drama about a bomb disposal unit collected a total of six Oscars, including Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay.

82nd Academy Awards Nominees and Winners:

Best Picture:
The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
Inglourious Basterds
A Serious Man
Up in the Air
Winner: The Hurt Locker

Actor in a Leading Role:
George Clooney, Up in the Air
Colin Firth, A Single Man
Morgan Freeman, Invictus
Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker
Winner: Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart

Actor in a Supporting Role:
Matt Damon, Invictus
Woody Harrelson, The Messenger
Christopher Plummer, The Last Station
Stanley Tucci, The Lovely Bones
Winner: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Actress in a Leading Role:
Helen Mirren, The Last Station
Carey Mulligan, An Education
Gabourey Sidibe, Precious
Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia
Winner: Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side

Actress in a Supporting Role:
Penélope Cruz, Nine
Vera Farmiga, Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal, Crazy Heart
Anna Kendrick, Up in the Air
Winner: Mo’Nique, Precious

Animated Feature Film:
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog
The Secret of Kells
Winner: Up

Best Director:
Avatar, James Cameron
Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino
Precious, Lee Daniels
Up in the Air, Jason Reitman
Winner: The Hurt Locker, Kathryn Bigelow

Adapted Screenplay:
District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell
An Education, Nick Hornby
In the Loop, Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
Up in the Air, Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner
Winner: Precious, Geoffrey Fletcher

Original Screenplay:
Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino
The Messenger, Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman
A Serious Man, Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
Up, Bob Peterson, Pete Docter
Winner: The Hurt Locker, Mark Boal

Art Direction:
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Sherlock Holmes
The Young Victoria
Winner: Avatar

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, Bruno Delbonnel
The Hurt Locker, Barry Ackroyd
Inglourious Basterds, Robert Richardson
The White Ribbon, Christian Berger
Winner: Avatar, Mauro Fiore

Costume Design:
Bright Star, Janet Patterson
Coco before Chanel, Catherine Leterrier
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, Monique Prudhomme
Nine, Colleen Atwood
Winner: The Young Victoria, Sandy Powell

Documentary (Feature):
Burma VJ
Food, Inc.
The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers
Which Way Home
Winner: The Cove

Documentary (Short Subject):
China's Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province
The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner
The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant
Rabbit à la Berlin
Winner: Music by Prudence

Film Editing:
Avatar, Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron
District 9, Julian Clarke
Inglourious Basterds, Sally Menke
Precious, Joe Klotz
Winner: The Hurt Locker, Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Foreign Language Film:
Ajami, Israel
The Milk of Sorrow, Peru
Un Prophète, France
The White Ribbon, Germany
Winner: El Secreto de Sus Ojos, Argentina

Il Divo, Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
The Young Victoria, Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore
Winner: Star Trek, Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Original Score:
Avatar, James Horner
Fantastic Mr. Fox, Alexandre Desplat
The Hurt Locker, Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders
Sherlock Holmes, Hans Zimmer
Winner: Up, Michael Giacchino

Original Song:
"Almost There" from The Princess and the Frog
"Down in New Orleans" from The Princess and the Frog
"Loin de Paname" from Paris 36
"Take It All" from Nine
Winner: "The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)" from Crazy Heart

Short Film (Animated):
French Roast
Granny O'Grimm's Sleeping Beauty
The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)
A Matter of Loaf and Death
Winner: Logorama

Short Film (Live Action):
The Door
Instead of Abracadabra
Miracle Fish
Winner: The New Tenants

Sound Editing:
Inglourious Basterds
Star Trek
Winner: The Hurt Locker

Sound Mixing:
Inglourious Basterds
Star Trek
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Winner: The Hurt Locker

Visual Effects:
District 9
Star Trek
Winner: Avatar

The 82nd Academy Awards were held on Sunday, March 7, 2010.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.