1. Entertainment

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

John Rzeznik Sets Sail for "Treasure Planet"
November 19, 2002

Singer/songwriter John Rzeznik ("Goo Goo Dolls")
Photo ©2002 Walt Disney Studios. All Rights Reserved.
 Related Resources

• "Treasure Planet" Movie News, Trailer and Websites
• "Treasure Planet" Production Photos

• Movie News/Casting Info
• Upcoming Theatrical Releases
• Movie Reviews
• Recently Released or New on DVD

Walt Disney Records is proud to present the soundtrack to "Treasure Planet," featuring the scorching ballad "I’m Still Here (Jim’s Theme)" by John Rzeznik of chartbusting rock band Goo Goo Dolls, plus the full orchestral score by Academy Award®-nominated composer James Newton Howard. In addition, the soundtrack includes an exclusive recording of Rzeznik’s end-title song "Always Know Where You Are" performed by British pop sensations BBMak.

"Treasure Planet," an intergalactic twist on Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic adventure "Treasure Island," tells the story of rebellious teen Jim Hawkins who stumbles on a map leading to the loot of a thousand worlds. Embarking on a treasure hunt that takes him out of his lonely existence and into a world of danger, Jim boards a space galleon as cabin boy and becomes assistant to the ship’s cook, the bearish half-man half-cyborg John Silver. Under Silver’s single watchful eye Jim turns from unreformed punk into something like a responsible man, as the crew are forced to deal with terrifying supernovas, space storms and black holes. But when Silver turns on Jim and leads the crew in mutiny, Jim is forced to turn inward for the confidence he’ll need to fend off the pirates and save one and all from the dangers that await them on Treasure Planet. Directed by Ron Clements and John Musker, writers and directors of perennial Disney favorites "The Little Mermaid," "Aladdin" and "Hercules," this latest Disney animated feature thrusts "Treasure Island" into uncharted sci-fi territory.

"Treasure Planet" is James Newton Howard’s third score for a Disney animated feature, following "Dinosaur" (2000) and "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" (2001). Howard excites every swashbuckling atom in his listeners’ brains with the rousing themes and soaring harmonies of his "Treasure Planet" score. "It’s very much in that wonderful tradition of Korngold and Tiomkin and Steiner," says Howard. "Those composers have such a legacy of spectacular music that there was an expectation that the music really had to perform on a classic level." And perform it does: high adventure explodes from cues like "12 Years Later" and "The Portal", while the Mercurial spirit of Gustav Holst enlivens "Silver."

Howard’s recent scores have included all three of M. Night Shyamalan’s blockbusters "The Sixth Sense," "Unbreakable" and "Signs." He earned Academy Award® nominations for "The Fugitive," "The Prince of Tides" and "My Best Friend’s Wedding," and two of his songs, "Look What Love has Done" from "Junior" and "For the First Time" from "One Fine Day," have also been nominated. For television, Howard composed the themes to shows "Gideon’s Crossing" and "E.R.," winning an Emmy for the former and a nomination for the latter.

For a crucial sequence where Jim is finally beginning to shine on his own, the Disney team commissioned a song from John Rzeznik, lead singer and songwriter for multi-platinum-selling band Goo Goo Dolls. What they got back was nothing less than a cri de coeur, a shout from the rooftops: "I’m Still Here." Rzeznik didn’t have to dig too deep to find the emotion behind this track, the unspoken soundtrack of Jim’s rebel-with-a-cause angst: "It was easy to relate to Jim, you know?" says Rzeznik. "I felt a lot like that when I was his age."

Rzeznik’s second song for "Treasure Planet" is the uptempo number "Always Know Where You Are", which runs during the movie’s closing credits. On the soundtrack the tune is performed by platinum-selling Hollywood Records artists BBMak. The band, composed of co-lead vocalists Mark Barry, Christian Burns and Stephen McNally. Their latest album is 2002’s "Into Your Head," which was co-produced by Rob Cavallo, producer of Rzeznik’s "I’m Still Here".

There’s an embarrassment of riches in the "Treasure Planet" cast, which features the voices of Brian Murray (John Silver), Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Jim Hawkins), Emma Thompson (Captain Amelia), David Hyde-Pierce (Doctor Doppler), Martin Short (B.E.N.), Patrick McGoohan (Billy Bones) and Roscoe Lee Browne (Mr. Arrow). "Treasure Planet" will open the same day in both regular and IMAX theatres, a first in Disney history, on November 27, 2002.

Interested in purchasing the soundtrack?

SOURCE: Walt Disney Records

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Previous Articles

See More About

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.