1. Entertainment

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

AFI Awards 2001 - List of Nominees & Winners

 Related Resources

• Golden Globe Nominees
• Romantic Movie Reviews
• Top Picks-Recently Released DVDs
• Top Picks-New Romantic Movie Soundtracks
 From Other Guides

• About's Action/Adventure Movie Page
• Comedy Films from About
• Reviews of Dramatic Films

 Elsewhere on the Web

• American Film Institute

The American Film Institute (AFI) tossed their hat into the award show ring with the announcement of the nominees for their first annual AFI Awards 2001. The nominations represented 19 film and television categories, with the winners announced on January 5, 2002. CBS broadcast the three-hour award ceremony live from the Beverly Hills Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA.

Two 13-member committees - one representing motion pictures and one representing television - made the nominations. The committees were comprised of experts from across the film and television communities and each included three AFI Trustees, three scholars, three critics, three artists and a chair. A 100-person AFI Jury representing experts from across the moving image community ultimately selected the award winners.

Presenters at the first annual award ceremony included Joan Allen, Alan Cumming, Dennis Franz, Patricia Heaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Allison Janney, Eugene Levy, Joe Mantegna, Haley Joel Osment, and Michelle Pfeiffer.


AFI Movie of the Year Nominees
"A Beautiful Mind" - Producers: Brian Grazer, Ron Howard, Universal/DreamWorks
"Black Hawk Down" - Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Ridley Scott, Columbia
"In The Bedroom" - Producers: Graham Leader, Ross Katz, Todd Field, Miramax
"The Man Who Wasn't There" - Producer: Ethan Coen, USA Films
"Memento" - Producers: Jennifer Todd, Suzanne Todd, Newmarket
"Monster's Ball" - Producer: Lee Daniels, Lions Gate
"Moulin Rouge" - Producers: Martin Brown, Baz Luhrmann, Fred Baron, Twentieth Century Fox
"Mulholland Drive" - Producers: Mary Sweeney, Alain Sarde, Neal Edelstein, Michael Polaire, Tony Krantz, Universal Focus
"Shrek" - Producers: Aron Warner, John H. Williams, Jeffrey Katzenberg, DreamWorks
(WINNER) "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring" - Producers: Barrie M. Osborne, Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, Tim Sanders, New Line

AFI Actor of the Year - Male
Russell Crowe ... as John Nash in "A Beautiful Mind"
Billy Bob Thornton ... as Ed Crane in "The Man Who Wasn't There"
Tom Wilkinson ... as Matt Fowler in "In The Bedroom"
(WINNER) Denzel Washington ... as Alonzo Harris in "Training Day"

AFI Actor of the Year - Female
Halle Berry ... as Leticia Musgrove in "Monster's Ball"
Stockard Channing ... as Julie Styron in "The Business of Strangers"
Naomi Watts ... as Betty Elms in "Mullholland Drive"
(WINNER) Sissy Spacek ... as Ruth Fowler in "In The Bedroom"

AFI Featured Actor of the Year - Male
Steve Buscemi ... as Seymour in "Ghost World"
Brian Cox ... as Big John Harrigan in "L.I.E."
Tony Shalhoub ... as Freddy Riedenschneider in "The Man Who Wasn't There"
(WINNER) Gene Hackman ... as Royal Tenenbaum in "The Royal Tenenbaums"

AFI Featured Actor of the Year - Female
Cate Blanchett ... as Kate Wheeler in "Bandits"
Cameron Diaz ... as Julie Gianni in "Vanilla Sky"
Frances O'Connor ... as Monica Swinton in "A.I. - Artificial Intelligence"
(WINNER) Jennifer Connelly ... as Alicia Nash in "A Beautiful Mind"

AFI Director of the Year
Todd Field -- "In The Bedroom"
David Lynch -- "Mulholland Drive"
Ridley Scott -- "Black Hawk Down"
(WINNER) Robert Altman -- "Gosford Park"

AFI Screenwriter of the Year
Rob Festinger, Todd Field -- "In The Bedroom"
Akiva Goldsman -- "A Beautiful Mind"
Daniel Clowes, Terry Zwigoff -- "Ghost World"
(WINNER) Christopher Nolan -- "Memento"

AFI Cinematographer of the Year
Ericson Core -- "The Fast and the Furious"
Slawomir Idziak -- "Black Hawk Down"
Janusz Kaminski -- "A.I. - Artificial Intelligence"
(WINNER) Roger Deakins -- "The Man Who Wasn't There"

AFI Editor of the Year
Dody Dorn -- "Memento"
Pietro Scalia -- "Black Hawk Down"
Tim Squyres -- "Gosford Park"
(WINNER) Jill Bilcock -- "Moulin Rouge"

AFI Production Designer of the Year
Stephen Altman -- "Gosford Park"
Rick Carter -- "A.I. - Artificial Intelligence"
Arthur Max -- "Black Hawk Down"
(WINNER) Grant Major -- "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"

AFI Digital Artist of the Year
Robert Legato, Nick Davis, Roger Guyett -- "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"
Scott Farrar, Dennis Muren -- "A.I. - Artificial Intelligence"
Bob Sabiston -- "Waking Life"
(WINNER) Jim Rygiel -- "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"

AFI Composer of the Year
Angelo Badalementi -- "Mulholland Drive"
Patrick Doyle -- "Gosford Park"
Howard Shore -- "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"
(WINNER) Craig Armstrong -- "Moulin Rouge"


AFI Drama Series of the Year
"Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (UPN)
"Six Feet Under" (HBO)
"The West Wing" (NBC)
(WINNER) "The Sopranos" (HBO)

AFI Comedy
"Everybody Loves Raymond" (CBS)
"Malcolm in the Middle" (FOX)
"Sex and the City" (HBO)
(WINNER) "Curb Your Enthusiasm" (HBO)

AFI Movie or Mini-Series of the Year
"Anne Frank" (ABC)
"Boycott" (HBO)
"Conspiracy" (HBO)
(WINNER) "Band of Brothers" (HBO)

AFI Actor of the Year - Male - Series
Michael C. Hall ... as David Fisher in "Six Feet Under" (HBO)
Chi McBride ... as principal Steven Harper in "Boston Public" (Fox)
Ray Romano ... as Ray Barone in "Everybody Loves Raymond" (CBS)
(WINNER) James Gandolfini ... as Tony Soprano in "The Sopranos" (HBO)

AFI Actor of the Year - Female - Series
Allison Janney ... as C.J. Cregg in "The West Wing" (NBC)
Jane Kaczmarek ... as Lois Wilkerson in "Malcolm in the Middle" (Fox)
Doris Roberts ... as Marie Barone in "Everybody Loves Raymond" (CBS)
(WINNER) Edie Falco ... as Carmela Soprano in "The Sopranos" (HBO)

AFI Actor of the Year - Male - Movie or Mini-Series
Kenneth Branagh ... as SS General Reinhard Heydrich in "Conspiracy" (HBO)
Ben Kingsley ... as Otto Frank in "Anne Frank" (ABC)
Giovanni Ribisi ... as Mikal Gilmore in "Shot in the Heart" (HBO)
(WINNER) Jeffrey Wright ... as Martin Luther King, Jr. in "Boycott" (HBO)

AFI Actor of the Year - Female - Movie or Mini-Series
Tammy Blanchard ... as young Judy Garland in "Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows" (ABC)
Hannah Taylor Gordon ... as Anne Frank in "Anne Frank" (ABC)
Phylicia Rashad ... as Elizabeth Borney in "The Old Settler" (PBS)
(WINNER) Judy Davis ... as Judy Garland in "Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows" (ABC)

SOURCE: American Film Institute

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Previous Articles

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.