1. Entertainment

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

"Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" Soundtrack News
Source: Columbia Records

© 2002 DMZ/Columbia/Sony Music - All Rights Reserved.

Related Resources

Premiere Coverage
Movie Photos
Sandra Bullock
Ashley Judd

Additional Information

"Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" Resources

DMZ/Columbia/Sony Music Soundtrax released the "Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood," an album of music from the eagerly-awaited Warner Bros./Gaylord Films motion picture, on Tuesday, May 28. The film, "Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood," opened nationwide on Friday, June 7.

"Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" is the first new soundtrack album to be produced by T Bone Burnett since he took home four of this year's Grammys, including Producer of the Year, Album of the Year (for "O Brother, Where Art Thou?"), and Best Compilation Soundtrack Album for a Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media (for "O Brother, Where Art Thou?"). The album features 19 tracks, 11 of which were newly recorded for the film.

Among the new songs on the album are Lauryn Hill's "Selah" and Bob Dylan's "Waitin' For You." Written especially for the film, "Waitin' For You" is the first new song to be written and recorded by Bob Dylan for a movie since the artist won both an Oscar and a Golden Globe Award for "Things Have Changed" from the Curtis Hanson-directed "Wonder Boys." Also featured on the soundtrack are new recordings of classic songs including "Sitting In the Window of My Room" by Alison Krauss, Nat King Cole's "If Yesterday Could Only Be Tomorrow" interpreted by Tony Bennett, Taj Mahal's rollicking take on Fat's Waller's "Keeping Out of Mischief Now," and Billie Holiday's plaintive "I Want To Be Your Mother's Son-In-Law" re-imagined by Macy Gray.

A combination of traditional Louisiana music (including three Cajun classics performed by Ann Savoy), urban American blues (as exemplified by Jimmy Reed), new interpretations of classic songs, and original music written for the film, the sounds on "Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" echo the flow and complexity of the film's narrative. While the movie's storyline spans three generations and 60 years in the life of its characters and the Louisiana they inhabit, the music provides insight into their psychological and emotional reality, mirroring the changing eras they live through.

Based on the popular and influential 1996 novel by Rebecca Wells, the film "Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" is classic Southern tale of hilarity set in a sleepy Louisiana parish. The film follows a group of lifelong friends who stage a rather unorthodox intervention to help a young playwright unravel the truth about her complicated, eccentric mother, find forgiveness and acceptance, and let go of her painful past. "Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" stars Sandra Bullock, Ellen Burstyn, Ashley Judd, James Garner and Maggie Smith and marks the directorial debut of Callie Khouri, whose screenplay for "Thelma & Louise" won her an Academy Award.

"Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood" Track Listing:

  • "Assi Dans La Fenetre De Ma Chambre" - Blind Uncle Gaspard
  • "Drug State" -- Vincent & Mr. Green
  • "Found Love" -- Jimmy Reed
  • "C'est Si Triste" -- Ann Savoy
  • "Lulu Revenue Dans La Village" -- Ann Savoy
  • "C'est Un Peche de Dire Un Mentire" -- Ann Savoy
  • "I Want To Be Your Mother's Son-In-Law" -- Macy Gray
  • "Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now" -- Taj Mahal
  • "Little Rain" -- Jimmy Reed
  • "Ain't That Lovin' You Baby?" -- Jimmy Reed
  • "Dimming Of The Day" -- Richard & Linda Thompson
  • "Selah" -- Lauryn Hill
  • "I Got Love If You Want It" -- Slim Harpo
  • "Lonely Avenue" -- Ray Charles
  • "Sitting In The Window Of My Room" -- Alison Krauss
  • "Walk In Jerusalem" -- Mahalia Jackson
  • "If Yesterday Could Only Be Tomorrow" -- Tony Bennett
  • "Waitin' For You" -- Bob Dylan
  • "The World Exploded Into Love" -- Bob Schneider

    Interested in purchasing the soundtrack?

SOURCE: Columbia Records

See More About

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.