1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Meryl Streep, Christopher Plummer Named as Oscar Presenters

By February 5, 2013

Follow me on:

Christopher Plummer, Octavia Spencer, Meryl Streep, Jean Dujardin The Academy just announced last year's Academy Award winners in the acting categories - Meryl Streep, Jean Dujardin, Octavia Spencer and Christopher Plummer - are confirmed to return to the Oscar stage on February 24, 2013 for the 85th Academy Awards. Because the previous year's Oscar winners are usually asked back to present the Academy Award to the current year's winners, this first batch of 2013 Oscar presenter names doesn't really give us any new clues as to what the show's producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron have in mind for the broadcast.

For those who've forgotten who won what last year, Streep earned the Best Actress Oscar for The Iron Lady, Dujardin picked up his first Academy Award for his starring role in The Artist, and Spencer triumphed over a competitive group in the Best Supporting Actress category for her work as a maid in The Help. Plummer earned his first Oscar as Best Supporting Actor for Beginners.

Meron and Zadan are trying to bring in a younger audience this year, and they're determined to keep the show moving along. At the annual Oscar luncheon, they revealed they've watched the broadcasts from the last 40 years and have identified places where they can cut out short segments that hog time and slow the show's pace. Zadan said, "You start adding up those 30 seconds, and you have an accumulation of time that you can use for entertainment. So that's what we're doing. We're learning a lot about the things that we don't need in the show."

(Photo © AMPAS)


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.