1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Writers Guild - The 2013 Nominees

By January 6, 2013

Follow me on:

LooperBoth branches of the Writers Guild of America (the East and the West) have spoken, revealing their nominees for the best original and adapted screenplays of 2012. The group obviously didn't fall completely in step with other awards organizations, with Looper making a surprise appearance on the list alongside four original screenplays that have been getting much more notice from awards groups. Looper's writer/director Rian Johnson deserves the nomination, but it definitely wasn't a sure thing going into voting season. However, what I find most interesting about their selections is that 5 out of the 10 nominees are writer/directors.

Winners will be announced on February 17, 2013.

The Original Screenplay Nominees:

Flight - Written by John Gatins
Looper - Written by Rian Johnson
The Master - Written by Paul Thomas Anderson
Moonrise Kingdom - Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
Zero Dark Thirty - Written by Mark Boal

The Adapted Screenplay Nominees:

Argo - Screenplay by Chris Terrio
Life of Pi - Screenplay by David Magee
Lincoln - Screenplay by Tony Kushner
The Perks of Being a Wallflower - Screenplay by Stephen Chbosky
Silver Linings Playbook - Screenplay by David O. Russell

(Photo © TriStar Pictures)


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.