1. Entertainment

Paul Reubens to be Honored at the 2011 SCREAM Awards

By October 13, 2011

Follow me on:

Paul Reubens Spike TV has named Paul Reubens (aka Pee-wee Herman) as this year's winner of the SCREAM Awards 'Visionary Award'. Reubens will be receiving the award during the network's SCREAM Awards 2011 airing on October 18th. Reubens was selected for the honor based on his creation of one of the most iconic characters of all time.

In the press release announcing Reubens' selected, Spike TV stated, "Reubens will be honored for the multitude of ways he entertained audiences as Pee-wee Herman since his introduction of the character in 1978. From the 22-time Emmy® Award winning Pee-wee's Playhouse, to the lengths Herman went to be reunited with his bicycle in Pee-wee's Big Adventure, to the The Pee-wee Herman Show on Broadway, Reubens exhibited one of a kind creativity and groundbreaking originality and has had an extraordinary impact on generations of fans."

"Paul Reubens had a big vision and in bringing Pee-wee Herman and his amazing Playhouse to life, he brilliantly brought us all along on a very big adventure," stated Michael Levitt, executive producer of Spike TV's SCREAM Awards 2011. "Pee-wee speaks to the inner child in all of us, with a grown-up wit and a timeless irreverence. At the 'Scream Awards,' we honor a wide range of visionary geniuses and it has been a longstanding dream to have this chance to honor Paul - and Pee-wee - with the Scream Visionary Award."

Reubens responded to the news by saying, "If Pee-wee were giving this quote, I think he'd scream out, 'I'm a visionary! I'm a visionary!' and then run to the dictionary to look up what visionary means. But I know what it means, and I am profoundly grateful and honored to Spike TV for this recognition. I share this with all the amazing collaborators I've had over the years and my fans, without whom none of this would be possible or worth it."

Previous winners of the Visionary Award include Johnny Depp, Keith Richards, George Lucas, Tim Burton, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Christopher Nolan and Robert Downey Jr.

Also expected to take part in this year's SCREAM Awards (my personal favorite awards show to cover) are Robert Downey Jr, Nicolas Cage, Quentin Tarantino, Mark Wahlberg, Bradley Cooper, Kate Beckinsale, Zoe Saldana, Lena Headey, Sean Bean, Chloe Grace Moretz, Darren Aronofsky, Joe Manganiello, Kal Penn, John Cho, Dylan McDermott, Matt Smith, Anna Torv, Bryce Johnson, and Caity Lotz.

The full list of nominees: SCREAM 2011 Awards nominees

Follow Hollywood Movies - Twitter | Facebook

(Photo of Paul Reubens by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images)


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
Top Related Searches
  • paul reubens
  • scream awards
  • ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.