1. Entertainment

Matt Damon to Receive Joel Siegel Award at Critics' Choice Movie Awards

By January 5, 2011

Follow me on:

Matt Damon photoThe Broadcast Film Critics Association (of which I'm a member) has named Matt Damon as the recipient of the 4th Annual Joel Siegel Award, a special award presented to celebrities who make significant contributions off the screen, to be presented at the 16th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards. The award was created in honor of BFCA member / Good Morning America film critic Joel Siegel who passed away from cancer in 2007.

Announcing the award, BFCA President Joey Berlin stated,  "Matt personifies the values celebrated by the Joel Siegel Award. Among his many charitable endeavors, Matt's work as co-founder of Water.org has inspired us to honor him. The profound mission of Water.org is to help bring a day when everyone on the planet can take a safe drink of water. Matt is also a founder of Not On Our Watch, which focuses global attention and resources to stop and prevent mass atrocities. He helps fight AIDS and poverty as a supporter of the ONE Campaign. He is also an ambassador for ONEXONE, a non-profit foundation committed to supporting, preserving and improving the lives of children at home in the United States and around the world, and a spokesperson for Feeding America, this country's largest hunger-relief organization. Clearly Matt understands, as Joel did, that the true value of celebrity is as an enhanced platform to do good works for others."

Past winners of the Joel Siegel Award are Kevin Bacon, Richard Gere, and Don Cheadle.

The 16th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards will be held on Friday, January 14th and broadcast on VH1 at 9:00 PM ET/PT.

Full list of nominees: 2011 Critics' Choice Movie Awards nominees

(Photo of Matt Damon by Jemal Countess / Getty Images)

Join Hollywood Movies on Facebook / Follow Hollywood Movies on Twitter


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.